SAM 3 – Late again!

 Ok. I admit I am terribly disorganised. However (M’Lud) I have been away from home twice since I last posted. The management and I spent a couple of days in Wales (one fabulous sunshine and the other Welsh) when we visited two National Trust properties – Erdigg and Chirk Castle. I thoroughly enjoyed having a break after the bridesmaid crisis which meant that I filled all the remaining time just finishing client work . Nothing for me. Zilch. Nada. Niet.

Chirk Castle

Chirk Castle

We followed that with another week of just keeping pace before running away to Plymouth to give my Northern Diver suit a good soaking. No apologies for a weekends diving over Easter. Fabulous dives – I am sad to have missed the electric guitar which is apparantly in the wheelhouse of the wreck of the Scylla but I didn’t get there!

This week has been better and I am now back on track with outside work. Today I finally got started on SAM3. Yes – I know we are in April so it should be SAM4. But I am working on 3. I did the pattern alterations to the style I wanted and cut it out in cotton sateen a little while ago but I lost my way after that.

Vogue 8747

 

New Back Vogue 8747

New Back Vogue 8747

I liked Vogue 8747 but wanted the princess lines on the back to look the same as the front (go into the sleeve instead of the shoulder). I made the pattern with 8747 in mind from my own pattern block. I knew I would need lots of adjustments to a commercial pattern so thought that would be a quicker route. Today I actually made a start with sewing this together. I am determined not to use the overlocker on this project – they are a wonderful tool but it is too easy to just ‘romp’ through a project without too much effort. I have the body put together using ‘sort of’ flat felled seams. I have no photographs yet but hope to be able to finish by sunday and show the stages in my next post.

    P.S. I also have a project that I have been working on for Rhonda Buss which I hope to be able to show you next week – I have to clear it with her first! 
3 Comments on “SAM 3 – Late again!”

  1. Carolyn says:

    You are so right, it is easy to romp through a project, and it does feel good to slow down and take the time to work through a thing slowly and carefully… I couldn’t agree more! Good luck with your new blouse!

  2. Pauline Droy says:

    well that makes two of us – I haven’t done No. 3 yet let alone looked at No.4 – until I get my test Chanel jacket out the way, followed by the Actual jacket + a dress+ make a wedding cake I think I will have to catch up with SAM’s in June 😦

    Good luck with your’s

  3. Carolyn says:

    Thank you so much for your sweet comment on my Vogue 1170 skirt! I have made the blouse on this pattern also, and I agree it is a lovely blouse.


Leave a Reply

