How does this Tulip tip work?

Last week I was listening to the lovely Claudia Winkleman (presenter of The Great British Sewing Bee) on the radio and heard a bizarre tip for keeping tulips standing up straight instead of them falling over in the vase. A very simple step of dropping a 2p coin into the vase with the water was said to be the answer. Not two 1p coins. One 2p. Yeah right, I thought.

By coincidence a friend visited me on Friday and brought me and brought me a beautiful bunch of tulips (Thank you J!).  Time to try out that tip!

Still amazingly straight after five days!

Still amazingly straight after five days!

Five days later they are still standing as straight as soldiers. How does that work?

8 Comments on “How does this Tulip tip work?”

  1. sewbussted says:

    Okay, but how can I get my hands on a 2p????

  2. Mrsmole says:

    Is it the copper reaction?

  3. Sometimes it’s good to have a little mystery in life! I quite like tulips when they go all floppy but I am definitely going to try this!

  4. […] How does this Tulip tip work? → […]


Leave a Reply

