Another old Singer Machine

It was never my intention to collect sewing machines but when you are offered something like this you have to say yes.

Singer 27K circa 1900

Singer 27K circa 1900

This beauty was being used as a sewing table by someone who didn’t want to use the treadle machine – but who now needed the space. The cabinet is a really nice piece of furniture on it’s own – but the fact that it hides a machine built in Scotland in 1900 makes it super special.

Nice cabinet hiding a fab machine

Nice cabinet hiding a fab machine

 
Real drawers on the left...

Real drawers on the left…

Treadle mechanism hidden behind mock drawers on the right

Treadle mechanism behind mock drawers on the right

The machine is in desperate need of some TLC , and a lot of oil! The treadle was locked solid but is moving now. I will have to have some patience and spend time of this machine when I can to bring her back into full working order. I am sure that once everything is moving and back in order this machine will outlast me. Everything (other than the treadle band) is solid metal and very hard wearing. I cant wait to try this out properly by making something on it – I am sure that the treadle action must be very therapeutic.

This has obviously been well used in the past as the decal is worn at just the point that you would hold your right hand whilst working. I have identified the decal as ‘Sphinx’ or ‘Memphis’.Whichever name you give it the pictures are beautiful.

I can work quietly on all the sewing I have for clients knowing that behind me all of the little nooks and crannies are slowly drinking up the oil I have put on them.

Sphinx or Memphis - beautiful whichever.

Sphinx or Memphis – beautiful whichever.

Please don’t offer me any more machines – The Management has been quite impressed with this old lady but if she was joined by lots of similarly aged friends I think his patience may be tried!

13 Comments on “Another old Singer Machine”

  1. Ah she’s beautiful.. I had to be restrained last week at an auction from buying a similar one when I was reminded that “there’s only soooo much space in the car to take things back to Spain you know! 😦

  2. Sewbussted says:

    What a lovely cabinet. I have my grandmother’s treadle machine. No others, just the one, but I love it!

  3. eumoronorio says:

    wow that is a beauty!

  4. Petra says:

    Incredibly beautiful! It’s just so amazing to be able to buy something that old and beautiful, that still is perfectly usable, maybe even better than some much newer machines (after a litre of oil!).
    Did you see Peter’s (Male Pattern Boldness) recent posts about savage ways people have treated their old machines? http://malepatternboldness.blogspot.co.uk/2013/04/when-bad-things-happen-to-good-sewing.html
    His post after that one is a video of him demonstrating his a Singer 66 from the mid-20s.
    Lucky you to have such a lovely thing!

    • I haven’t seen that Petra but I will make sure I check it out. I feel sad for this little beauty having been neglected but hopefully, after that litre of oil (!), she will purr!

  5. Carolyn says:

    Oh, you are lucky! That is a real beauty 🙂

  6. Angela says:

    Such a lovely old machine! Can’t wait to see what you will make with her!

  7. […] Singer treadle sewing machine. Those of you with very long memories will remember her arrival from here. I was quite excited by her arrival – but knew I was going to take a while to sort her out. […]

  8. Ellie says:

    I have almost this exact same model except my machine was issued in 1895. I do not have a sphinx but it is very close. I think roses (I’m not in front of it at the moment). The cabinet is exactly the same. I know my grandmother’s family came to the US from England and so it came over “on the boat” as we like to say. Funny thing is, they were suppose to take the Titantic but someone got sick so they had to take the sister ship. Lucky for me and my family and grandmother!!!

  9. Emily says:

    I have just bought this very sewing machine and cabinet and my grandad (a cabinet maker aged 90!) is doing it up for me. It’s been in someone’s garage for a long time so is looking worst for wear. He has one or two questions about your cabinet, do you mind answering them (and possibly supplying photos?) so he can work on mine? It would be really appreciated as I’m struggling to find any information or photos of this cabinet online. Thanks! Emily


Leave a Reply

