Are you sitting comfortably?

…..then I’ll begin.

For some weeks I have had a very sore knee. I can no longer run (jog) and going to the gym is out of the question. I saw one of the Personal Trainers from my gym when I was on the way into the swimming pool and was basically told to go home until I had a proper diagnosis.

I am very fortunate to have a friend who is a practicing chiropractor who will always fit me into her already ridiculously busy schedule. She was unhappy with the way my pelvis was ‘balanced’ and did what she could – Β but I am now seeing a physio via my doctor as I am getting no better.

HOWEVER. My dear friend called by my house to check my working position as I spend a lot of time sewing and was horrified at my sewing posture. She has made several changes (which have proved difficult as bad habits are hard to break) but I still have work to do. The wonderful Claire whom I met at the Pattern Magic stretch course posted this which shows the Threads magazine article about sewing posture and also offers some less expensive solutions to problems shown (I am off to Ikea ASAP!)

Despite all the efforts to sort me out I am still very sore and walking like Methuselah at the moment. I had already booked time away from sewing to go scuba diving in Cornwall – but that is out of the question with this knee! So….. I am enjoying the unbelievably good British sunshine with my knitting and a pile of books and a wonderful view of St Michaels Mount Β and look forward to the opportunity to dive when I am better. It is no hardship when the view is as good as this!

St Michaels Mount and Penlee Bay (and the offending injured knee)

St Michaels Mount and Penlee Bay (and the offending injured knee)

It still isn’t certain that my appalling sewing posture is responsible for my knee problem – but I really recommend that you check out your position before you have any possibility of injury. My knitting is coming along well, and the books are great – I could easily get used to this lifestyle!

Sadly I will be returning to real life on Saturday ready to start work again on Monday. I only hope the sunshine lasts!

16 Comments on “Are you sitting comfortably?”

  1. mrsmole says:

    Ice packs are your best friend! Reduce inflammation from the outside and take something like ibuprofen or naproxsen (Feminax Ultra in the UK) to reduce inflammation from the inside. Avoid heat as it increases blood flow and inflammation and eventually pain…ask me how I know. Best wishes for a good outcome and try to avoid knee surgery like I had in Feb!

  2. Velosewer says:

    I wish you all the best for a speedy recovery and lots of summer sunshine too.

  3. Enjoy your rest. It is well deserved.

  4. Rest up, take care and enjoy lots of medicinal wine!

  5. The finest (well….drinkable) red which is helping lots! The knitting is coming along well, and I have just finished my second trashy novel – bliss πŸ™‚

  6. ellecsews says:

    I use rubber door stops under the back of my sewing machine, it has worked wonders for my neck, I no longer get sore. I don’t use them under my serger or cover stitch machine, as I don’t sew on them nearly as long. You may even have them on hand, and they are cheaper too!

  7. Carolyn says:

    Oh, I’m sorry your knee is bad, and hope it recovers soon, and that you enjoy the sunshine while it lasts πŸ˜‰ My parents have just returned from the UK and said it was quite warm for England.

    • Quite warm! This is positively tropical!
      I am working again today but using the knee as an excuse to take frequent ‘fresh air’ breaks in the sunshine. Storms forecast so we must make the most of it πŸ™‚

  8. toemailer says:

    We would love to post the picture and an excerpt of your text at toemail if you do not mind? http://toemail.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

