Jungle January

jj2

I know I am late! Please don’t slam the gate to the water hole Anne – my zebras are here! I have watched in awe in previous years at other peoples garments made with animal print fabrics for Anne at Pretty Grievances ‘Jungle January’ and thought this was the year I really ought to take part. Fabric bought in December, although I did but the second fabric only a couple of weeks ago, and pattern at the ready so I thought this would be done early January. Humph. Anyhoo, I bring you…..(mental drum roll)

Jungle January - Zebra dazzle

Jungle January – Zebra dazzle

Jungle January - Zebra dazzle. And our local 'big cat' Boot.

Jungle January – Zebra dazzle. And our local ‘big cat’ Boot.

Zebra dazzle! Yes, this is one of those fabulous Funkifabric offerings. Just after I ordered the fabric for my daughter they announced a 20% off sale. Who could resist? I ordered more but that isn’t Jungly. The leggings pattern was made from the Kristina Shin book (post here), but I decided to add the back zippered pocket which is so useful in RTW running leggings.

The pattern alteration involved drawing the pocket shape in the back piece (don’t forget the elastic turn depth to guide how deep you want the pocket) and tracing this off using the CB seam as a straight of grain guide. By straightening the top of the pocket I ended up with about 4cm extra back length which didn’t worry me as I had felt I needed a bit more there anyway. Cut two pocket pieces and fit the zipper into a letterbox shaped hole (Edited to clarify – think bound buttonhole so you press back the fabric to make a rectangular hole).I drew the rectangle onto the fabric with the wonderful Frixion pen.

Draw the pocket shape on the back piece.

Draw the pocket shape on the back piece.

Layout with pocket - just fits 1metre of fabric!

Layout with pocket – just fits 1metre of fabric!

You could use a cotton or something to support the area whilst you sew in the zip but I found it went in pretty easily just as it was. I sewed both pockets together, with the underneath fabric right side up so it is still pretty when you open the pocket, before sewing it into the ‘hole’ in the back left when the CB seam is sewn together. It doesn’t look as though it will fit but it goes in well with the stretch in the fabric – you could put a few balance points on the pattern pieces to help but I just had CB. Almost all of the construction was done with 4 thread overlocker, but I used a 3 step zig zag to anchor seams where I wanted to prevent rubbing. Another fairly quick and easy make.

I plan to debut these at Parkrun in the hope that they will make me run like a zebra rather than the asthmatic donkey I usually resemble.

Jungle jammies fabric - not sure where whales fit into the jungle

Jungle jammies fabric – not sure where whales fit into the jungle

Very comfortable for bedtime reading

Very comfortable for bedtime reading

My second offering is another TNT pattern (First shown here). I felt I needed new PJs and when I was in Birmingham I found this glorious brushed cotton. I’m not sure where the whales fit with the jungle animals but I thought it was so good I wasn’t splitting hairs! The pattern is known to be comfortable, has pockets for you bedtime snacks, and buttons on the front to help orientate when really tired.

Phew! I made it. Just in before the gate slams for another year. There have been some fabulous offerings already this year – and some people have made loads (yes Ruth, that would be you!). If you are new to the jungle go check them out. Just make sure you are very quiet…….

15 Comments on “Jungle January”

  1. sewbussted says:

    I love your zebra tights and your pjs are adorable!

  2. jay says:

    Such splendid fabrics, it was worth the wait to see those in action!

  3. sewruth says:

    But all my things are very small……and certainly not active like yours! Love the leggings.

  4. […] you see the least expected rare beauties on a safari!! Trivia: what is the fastest land animal? Material Ladies in […]

  5. mrsmole says:

    Nothing cuter than a pair of really cool running pants and a fluffy cat! Adding a zipped pocket is genius!

    • Thanks Mrs Mole! The back pocket is now an essential on my running pants – and zipped to ensure I don’t need to retrace my route for lost keys 😭.
      Boot is a fabulous cat. Not my cat, but if you have heard of ‘Six dinners Sid’ then you will understand his character. Until I get another pet of my own he is a great stand in.

  6. Carolyn says:

    They look great! The zipped pocket is inspired 🙂

  7. Fadanista says:

    I love your pyjamas, and the zebra leggings. I had a giraffe fabric for my JJ make – it’s really hard to find jungly animals – you would have to have orangutans or chimps or lizards, I guess. Whales are much more exciting!

  8. Exciting maybe but few and far between in a jungle I imagine! The pj’s are proving warm and comfortable so I can cope with the bizarre mix of animals.

  9. […] did join in a couple of years ago when I made a pair of zebra print leggings. I knew I had a bit of this fabric left and had been […]


Leave a Reply

