Savage Beauty

Image result for savage beauty

I went to stay with my darling daughter last weekend and managed two visits to the V&A to see the Alexander McQueen ‘Savage Beauty’ exhibition. Please don’t let the fact that it has taken me a week to get around to writing anything about this make you think it wasn’t any good. It was superb. Better than that even. If you have any chance of booking a ticket and getting to London do it. Sell your firstborn, or hock your husband – it really is special.

I wasn’t able to take photographs as that wasn’t allowed but if you go here there are lots of fabulous pictures. Probably my favourite element of the entire show was the Peppers Ghost feature with Kate Moss which I understand closed the Widows of Culloden show. Spine tingling. If you click on the image you will (hopefully) be taken to the youtube video. In case you want to know what the wonderful haunting music is I can tell you that it is the theme from Schindlers List. I just loved it.

Image result for kate moss peppers ghost

Just in case you think I haven’t been doing anything this week I can confirm that my pattern blocks still fit, and when I get through the heap of ‘but I need it!’ stuff from my clients I will be charging on with something for me. I just need to get through this pile…..

10 Comments on “Savage Beauty”

  1. I thought the music in the whole show was wonderful but didn’t realise the source of the Peppers Ghost video. Thank you for the links; it’s now two months since my visit so it’s time to decide if I should go again. I notice you say you went twice!

  2. Laura Casey says:

    Went to see the McQueen show as well…..the music drove me crazy….but loved seeing it all, McQueen’s ability to make his views, political statements etc. Thru his clothing design was amazing….his tailoring skills really came thru as well….so glad I saw it. Wonder how long it took them to curate the show…it was huge.
    Laura, rtw faster

    • The man really did know his stuff, his tailoring knowledge was obvious in the garments. The exhibition had already been shown at the Met in New York but it must still take massive planning to make it fit a new space.
      Good luck with your RTW fast. I am not officially joining in this year but have only bought undies so far this year.

  3. Need to go – last time I was “doing” the museums a couple of weeks ago we were with Big Man’s 10 year old grand daughter so it was Natural History and Dinosaurs for us!

    • Ooh, go Tanya. You will enjoy it I am sure. Dinosaurs are good though!
      (Jess and I want to go to the science museum on a night without children so we can play without waiting for the kids to finish 😉 )

  4. Lily Lau says:

    The photos are great, I wish you could have taken some too! 🙂

    • It would have been lovely to be able to do that, but I do understand why the V&A aren’t allowing it.
      Look out for my planned visit to the Dior exhibition at the Bowes museum. They allowed photography when I was there last so I am hoping the same rules will apply 😀

  5. jay says:

    I saw this recently, and it took me a while to write about it. The work itself is so strong, anything I wrote seemed lame.

  6. […] glad of my members early entry ticket. The exhibition space was more crowded this time than on my last visit but my guess is that it was going to be much worse later! We were able to enjoy the garments all […]


Leave a Reply

