Lemongrass completed

Well I hope you all had a very happy holiday – however you may have celebrated. I was here at home with The management and Jess for the duration (having delivered the geographically distant family members gifts weeks ago). It has been wonderful to have my husband and daughter with me for a few days – but I am a solitary beast and have been looking forward to having some time alone again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lemongrass sweater

Anyhoo, during the time I have been able to sit around doing very little – and let me tell you I made the very most of this – I finished off the Lemongrass sweater I have been knitting. The pattern has turned out to be just as adorable as I had hoped, and whilst Jess said she liked it my mother didn’t seem too impressed with the picture I showed her when I visited. Ah well, you can’t please everyone.

Well now for the details. As previously mentioned this was knitted from a pattern found on the Ravelry site, in Drops Nepal which I bought from the Wool Warehouse. I was lucky enough to get it at 25% off but I think that finishes tomorrow (31/12/15). I had hoped that the alpaca bit of the mix would make the wool less ‘scratchy’ on my neck as I am very sensitive to that but it still seems to be a little itchy. Maybe that will be better after the sweater has been laundered.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lemongrass sweater

I knitted the pattern pretty much as printed, but I didn’t make the buttonholes in the front band as I really couldn’t see the point. I sewed the buttons through both layers and they are just fine. I sewed 4 buttons rather than the original two for no particular reason. Actually, I probably used four because I just loved the buttons which I bought last year(?) at the Kendal Wool Gathering. I did wonder about knitting this a fraction longer but I am very happy with the length it turned out – I am 5’4″ tall just in case you need to consider this for your garment should you decide to make it. If I make this again I might make the collar/neckline slightly shorter to stand up without a fold, or another couple of inches longer to make a good fold. At the moment it isn’t clear quite what it wants to do.

Lemongrass sweater - collar up?

Collar up?

or down?

Collar down?

I love my new sweater, and might well make this pattern again. I love having something on the needles through winter evenings so will be looking for another project pronto. I haven’t really felt like sewing, and since I didn’t have any client work needing attention I have taken a step away from the machines.

Isn’t it strange how you start to twitch a bit when the sewing urge comes back? Trousers next time.

27 Comments on “Lemongrass completed”

  1. Snuggalicious!
    That colour is lovely on you

  2. What a gorgeous sweater! The color is just lovely, and the front cable – perfection! Buttons are nice, no wonder you wanted to double them up.

  3. Wow you knit fast! I’m still happily cabling the front. I do hope, however, that mine turns out as lovely as yours because this is gorgeous. Thanks for the tip about the length. I’ve been contemplating adding a few more inches and as I’m 5′ 7″ I’ll definitely do so now I’ve read your review.

    As for your mother, well, whilst I love mine dearly I always tend to take the view that if she’s not keen on something I’ve made I’m on the right track. 😉

    Happy New Year…I hope it brings lovely things for you.

    • Thanks for bringing this pattern to my attention Evie. It is a fairly quick knit – but not having small children and being astonishingly organised over Christmas helped. I have spent lots of time in the evening knitting and watching tv. I feel the same way about ‘mother comments’ ! She ain’t going to like this!
      All the best for 2016

  4. Anna says:

    Gorgeous sweater! I love the front cable and the split side. Joji’s patterns have such wonderful details. I had overlooked this pattern before but I might have to add it to my queue after seeing your version.

  5. mrsmole says:

    At first I could not see where the buttons would go but went to see the actual pattern and voila’ there they are in the side seam! Such a beautiful sweater and it has a convertible collar…roll it down for hot flashes and roll it up for long walks in the rain. Are you getting any of the flooding like in the North?

    • Not great pictures eh? Something to improve in the future! I hadn’t considered the neckline to be so age appropriate – good spot Mrs Mole!
      The flood barriers are up, and there has been lots of rain, but we are not suffering at all. The pictures from the north are so sad. Mother Nature has provided a beautiful morning here for the last of the year 😃

  6. jay says:

    Fantastic sweater – the beautiful warm colour practically glows!

  7. sewruth says:

    What a great name for a jumper and what a great jumper!

  8. Fadanista says:

    I’ve bought the wool for my lemongrass – thank you for enabling and inspiring. I love the Russian join and will be doing that in the future, so thank you for that too!

  9. Fadanista says:

    Ps. Forgot to say how gorgeous your lemongrass is.

    • Thanks Sue! I look forward to seeing your version. The Russian join is so good. Not quicker, but neater. Don’t skimp on the length of sewing in – it really isn’t bulky and I didn’t think it showed as much as darning in after finishing.

  10. sew2pro says:

    I’ve been looking around the shops for a jumper just like that so that I can ditch the Berghaus when I want to be warm without looking like a hiker. Both versions of the collar look just great! Happy NYE!

    • I have just watched the reindeer program fromBBC4 and could be reasonably happy that this jumper would have kept me warm through that trip without looking like a hiker.
      Happy New Year Marianna!

  11. Rosewillow says:

    That’s a lovely sweater and a gorgeous colour! Happy New Year! 🙂

  12. Carolyn says:

    What a lovely jumper! and I like it equally well with the collar up or down, Looks like it would be beautifully warm and super cosy.
    Wishing you a Happy New Year, too! 🙂

  13. Love the colour and it looks lovely on you!


Leave a Reply

