Orange jacket/waistcoat

…or vest if you are American.

I have been thinking about what I wanted to  make with both the orange felted wool and brown merino jersey for long enough now. I have probably overthought the whole enterprise, which seems to be a common problem Chez Hood right now.

The main problem I have is that there is barely 140cm of the orange cloth (after washing) and I have spent ages convincing myself I can’t do what I want with that much. Rubbish. I’m planning to self draft this pattern so I can make sure it fits the fabric available. Within reason.

The other problem is that I can’t decide between two options. Think donkey between carrots. Yeah, that would be me at the moment and it isn’t going to get any better until I just get on with something!

Option 1.

Boiled wool waistcoat

Waistcoat by Poetry

All Ssaints jacket

All Saints Waistcoat – open

All saints Jacket 2

All Saints Waistcoat – closed

All of the pictures of waistcoats shown really appeal. The Poetry waistcoat has been in my ‘I like this’ pile of pictures for an age. I can’t even remember when I put the booklet on the heap. *sigh* . The All Saints version is a prettier version in my opinion – but I still can’t decide which I prefer. I know I want to have pockets, it would be useful to be able to close against the wind/weather, I don’t want it to look too voluminous, and I want to be able to layer garments with it. What would probably happen is a hybrid version with the sections I like best from both.

Option 2.

  I thought a neater, more ‘jackety’ option may be more useful – a bit like the Marcy Tilton Vogue 8430. Not necessarily a real ‘jacket’ but something edging that way.

I also liked the yellow Vogue 8932.V8932, Misses' Jacket and VestV8932, Misses' Jacket and Vest

Check out that back detail – and it could be made sleeveless. Sadly I can’t currently think of a sensible pocket option. Not something to kill the option but I would have liked a pocket.

I’m going to start drawing the pattern for these garments and then just make a start. They aren’t so different so I may find that part way through I will make a final decision. I think I may be leaning towards the Yellow jacket, but after a cup of tea who knows. Any suggestions/preferences might be helpful – feel free to give opinions again.

 

I have (I think) decided to re-stash the brown merino for now. There are a number of things i would like to do and I am starting to feel a bit bogged down. I really need to clear a couple of projects to loosen a mental ‘log jam’. Does anyone else find this happens to them?

 

23 Comments on “Orange jacket/waistcoat”

  1. Leah says:

    Oh, the fabric stash and too many ideas! Such a conundrum.
    Looking forward to seeing what you decide on and how it works out.

  2. They’re all lovely but I’m having a bit of a waistcoat phase right now – they keep me warm at home before I turn the heating on! That would be my vote 🙂

    • Heats already on here but I want something that will work through spring too. I’m leaning toward the yellow with the interesting seams but altering it to be just right. All I need now is to work out just right!

  3. mrsmole says:

    On the Vogue option…you have perfectly placed seams to sneak in a pocket there, just make the seam allowances a little wider and attach top and bottom flaps (matching cotton or silk fabric) to the seam allowances with a 1/4 inch seam and hand tack the rounded part to the inside of the wool.

  4. sewbussted says:

    My vote is for Vogue 8932, love the lines. But now that I think about it, I just watch…for about the millionth time, Pride and Prejudice. I may be a little swayed by the lovely costumes of Mr. Darcy 🙂 I still like the Vogue pattern the most.

  5. cathytremain says:

    The felted wool is gorgeous! If an outside pocket isn’t practical – lay it in the side seam or do a cut out. The neat thing about felted wool is that the seams won’t need finishing so if you really need a pocket cut it out of the front with a underlay of same or contrasting material. Then it is truly your own.

  6. sewruth says:

    Here’s an easy one – https://corecouture.wordpress.com/2014/12/31/swinging-thistle/
    I know exactly what you mean about feeling bogged down – sometimes I have more sewing ideas than I can cope with and hardly ever get round to any of them….

    • Yup. I know I make far more plans than garments. That thistle is a great jacket (jacket?) but not for this fabric. When I sort this out I will certainly bear it in mind for a quick but impressive project.

  7. fabrickated says:

    I like all your suggestions here – torn between the All Saints and the Vogue. I love the layering idea and the colours you are going to use. Maybe do both in differing lengths, or even all three and create a whole harmonious wardrobe?

  8. jay says:

    I like the All Saints for its wrap over option and length, and Vogue 8932 for its seaming. To get pockets in this I would put inseam pockets in the front seams, and possibly lengthen the garment a shade so there was more room to get them deeper if I wanted to be able to stuff hands in for warmth. The others are nice too, but they are my picks. Isn’t it hard to choose?

  9. Sadly, it has happened to me with every single garment, and I haven’t been at it very long. Just so many choices! For your dilemma, my choice is for the jacket is the Vogue (it says “easy”!) and All Saints (so very cozy).

  10. ejvc says:

    Are you sure you don’t want to make some kind of outdoorsy hiking layer :-)? JUST KIDDING. I like the Vogue jacket as well. My approach would be to muslin a couple of them and see which one you really like best on you. I think the loose swingy ones would look rather dowdy on me since I’m not rail thin — it’s worthwhile trying out something similar to see which one will flatter you.

    • Another ‘not rail thin’ person here! I have made a start sketching where I want the style lines for a version of the Vogue yellow, so should start pattern cutting very soon.
      I will add hiking/outdoor clothing to my list 🙂

  11. Fadanista says:

    I’m pleased you’re going with the Vogue and I can’t wait to see it!


Leave a Reply

