It just isn’t working…

I have tried to make the orange project appealing – honest I have. Oh my, how I have tried. But I just don’t like it.

I made the pattern, I even did a muslin. I fiddled with the pattern, re-jigged a couple of things I thought would make it work, even got as far as putting the pattern onto the fabric. It was going to be a tight fit but as long as I went without sleeves it did fit.

I went and had a cup of tea and considered my position – and eventually decided if I made this I would be wasting time and fabric as I really don’t think I would wear it (maybe because it wont have sleeves). So despite having the pattern all sorted I am calling time on this project. Moving on. Putting it behind me. Carry on with this theme as long as you like Β – I wont mind.

At the moment I have no idea what I will make next but I am going to tidy the mess in my cutting room (a small trees worth of paper scraps and bits of fabric). Maybe the tidy environment will make me clearer of brain. I am going to have a relaxing night with a very large glass of red and forget all about sewing for now.

Not all bad news though! During my fiddling time I decided to make a neck pillow which I saw on Sues ‘Fadanista‘ blog, which she had found on a site called Sew4Home.Β It looked excellent. Just the thing for reading in bed thought I. Didn’t take long, or take very much fabric (leftovers from my curtains – sshh! don’t tell anyone I made curtains!). The Management was a little baffled when I showed him and took it off me to try. I haven’t had that one back – he took it off to bed eventually looking a little like Linus from the Peanuts cartoon. Needless to say I made my own PDQ.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Marvelous neck pillows

If you have an hour (probably less) to make one of these your head and neck will thank you for it. I love mine to bits and will probably be making more as gifts for people whom I know would benefit from one.

 

 

 

28 Comments on “It just isn’t working…”

  1. Debbie Jones says:

    Oh dear, that sounds like an extremely frustrating project. I think you did the right thing by walking away from it. I find when I have that many issues with a garment it never feels quite right and I inevitably end up not wearing it. As they say, onwards an upwards πŸ™‚

    Debbie

  2. CurlsnSkirls says:

    That pillow sounds like a winner & will have to check out the pattern – thank you for the reference and the good news. Who doesn’t need a comfy pillow?!
    Don’t mean to overstep any marks, but am curious about the pattern you discarded . . . as it looks like one I might be eyeing, and forewarned is forearmed. Will understand if you’d rather not say.
    del

  3. jay says:

    I’ll definitely give the pillows a whirl. I suppose you could fill them with rice and have a microwaveable neck warming pillow?

  4. Ann Webber says:

    Well done ML. The neck cushions are very classy looking. Clever you! As for the Orange – tough call but as one who struggles to abandon dull books, daggy craft pieces and life un-altering projects I really admire people who can make the far more assertive call on their resources, time and talents. X

  5. mrsmole says:

    I’m not sure if you were going to leave all the seam lines on the muslin and then on the wool? What i see is the princess seams veer out to the side too wide to be flattering. If yoiu could bring them back over your bust points for a narrower look, that might help…OK then they would be less “artsy” and more classic but we do need to make things fit before they make a statement…really. The small armhole bust dart works and can be eliminated on paper if you want.So, Kim, what exactly don’t you like? The back could have a rounded back alteration high up and the back neck/collar could be pinned closer to the body…these are all things I do on my own stuff and for Nancy. Maybe it is the double layer of fabric crossing over the bust? If you can pinpoint what bothers you, you can have a plan to move ahead…I hate to give up on projects but your neck pillows are a real treat!

    • Muslin and pattern now binned. It just didn’t feel like something I would wear once I tried it. There were more lines drawn on the muslin that I had considered changing on the pattern but I realised that it was never going to be a good project. Thanks for your suggestions but it really was past time to walk away from this.

  6. sewbussted says:

    I say, don’t give up yet. Just put it aside. It’s amazing what can happen when you and a piece have some space πŸ™‚
    LOVE the neck pillow. I could really use one. We’ll see if mine gets nabbed πŸ˜‰

    • I had already been standing back and fiddling with this for a while (hence the blogging gap) so it is definitely a dead and gone project.
      Hang on tight to that pillow! I know how generous you are and you will lose it if you aren’t πŸ˜ƒ

  7. Thimberlina says:

    The pillow looks great, I’ve pinned it for when I get a moment πŸ˜€

  8. Downloaded the neck pillow pattern, it is perfect for a particular gift pack I’ve just started. Sorry your orange project wasn’t working for you. 😦

  9. sewruth says:

    You are right to let it lie, walk away and I bet the red wine helped a lot. I’ve been making cosmetic/wash bags to fill in the gap in my sewing so I’m off to check out the slightly weird neck pillow. Thanks

  10. Fadanista says:

    So glad the neck pillows were a success. Thanks for the link πŸ™‚

  11. fabrickated says:

    I know how it is. You just don’t love it. That is fine. There are other shapes that look much nicer and you can rely on, and would be criminal to waste some of your lovely precious fabric. I am guessing everyone gives up sometimes even if they pretend they always get it right. I find I learn more from the failures sometimes.

    And the neck pillow is a surprising idea – something a Roman would have used, but I read in bed a lot so I am going to try it. Thanks.

    • It’s good to try new shapes/ideas but sometimes you have to admit to a mistake. That is probably why it is good to ‘snoop shop’ new styles before spending time pattern cutting and sewing. It shouldn’t allow us to stick in a rut though – and really all I ‘wasted’ on this project was time, paper, and a bit of calico. Worth the wastage to experiment.

  12. I’m sure after a break everything will be fine. Fitting and muslins can be very frustrating. Time to curl up with a wine, a book, and a neck pillow!

  13. tialys says:

    It’s always a shame when something doesn’t work out but it’s good to know when to move on – better for one’s sanity I feel.
    That neck pillow is what I have been waiting for!! I always read in bed but, also, have been using a contoured pillow to sleep on as I kept getting a stiff neck with an ordinary one. However, I’m not sure who it is ‘contoured’ for but I don’t think it’s me. I didn’t realise this one was so large until I checked out the tutorial and who doesn’t need a pillow with ‘positioning handles’?


Leave a Reply

