Could this be the best reason to sew?

Clearing up papers and bits in my sewing room I found a piece I saved from the London Evening Standard from when I was last in London. This is from the 9th June edition and I meant to share it way back – but it got buried. Anyway, if you haven’t seen this prepare to be shocked…. or amazed.

Shocking?

Shocking?

If ever there was a reason to sew – or indeed learn to sew then I thought this was it. Do you want to be able to just scan someone to copy their outfit? Or be scanned? *shudder*

30 Comments on “Could this be the best reason to sew?”

  1. sew2pro says:

    Think I just lost the will to live, thanks Kim.

    🙂

  2. tialys says:

    Ooer! Mind you, that’s a motley collection of garments they’ve used in the photograph. I can’t imagine anybody scanning any of those – but, to be fair, I’m not a 20 year old bloke.

  3. No I would not like to be scanned. But if they scanned me, except my shoes and underwear, they would get blanks. I was completely distracted at first by how ugly those outfits are – sorry! I wasn’t paying attention in class! 😄

  4. Lesley says:

    Bleurgh! Although with us home sewers there will be a whole new error code “error error cannot compute”

  5. CurlsnSkirls says:

    Huge invasion of privacy issues, I should think.
    Everyone should start sewing & wearing their own creations.

  6. STH says:

    All this does is take a picture of the item and do an image search on the internet to see where it’s for sale. Some sewers that I know do this with fabric they like–take a pic and do an image search. It’s not “scanning” in any sense of the word and it doesn’t violate privacy any more than does taking a picture of someone out in public.

    • I appreciate your comment – I wasn’t aware that fabric searches could also be made in this way. I shuddered at the lack of imagination this would perpetuate. You can almost see the army of young fans dressed (provided they can afford it) in the same outfits as their idols. Money to be made in knock offs there I imagine.

  7. Hila says:

    I think imitation is the best form of flattery. I am constantly copying outfits/looks that are way too expensive for my pocket . If I was rich tbh I probably would be buying clothes.

    • I think we all sew versions of ‘aspirational’ garments that are beyond our purses. However, I know that you put your own individual touches to those garments – as would anyone sewing with their own style in mind.

  8. Mike Eaton says:

    Ah the clone world enters a new stage! They must be crazy!!

  9. sewbussted says:

    I have been guilty of going up to someone and telling them how much I like their outfit, and giving it a thorough overlook all along telling them just how lovely the outfit is when what I was really doing was mentally memorizing every detail. So a mental scan of sorts.
    I guess there are a few ways to look at this;
    While there is the creepy factor,
    If someone scanned my outfit, I would take it as a compliment.
    The next question though is who is making the scanned item? Some poor soul in a dingy factory being paid just a few cents and hour to slave away? More than likely.

    • I think most of us are guilty of ‘sneak shopping’ and what you do is similar. The suggestion seems to be that you will be directed to places selling the garments. Still smacks of a lack of imagination IMHO.

  10. prttynpnk says:

    Can’t we just go up to a person and tell them how nice they look? Must we secretly covet their outfit? Creepy!

  11. Roxane says:

    I can’t imagine wanting to copy what anybody else is wearing. I can imagine some rather unpleasant people using this to see how much an outfit cost. This could make American high schools even more unbearable than they already are. I am going to share this on FB if you don’t mind.

  12. Carolyn says:

    Oh my gosh, that’s hilarious. I would absolutely love to see what comes up if I got scanned. Presumably a blank? or a link to something similar? Very curious! It’s like everyone has been reduced to a walking catalogue or something!

    • An error message perhaps! Whilst I covet your wardrobe I know I couldn’t (shouldn’t?) wear some of your creations – and others could only be with my own twist. Keep creating though Carolyn as you are such an inspiration 😃

  13. fabrickated says:

    Technology is getting very clever. I like the idea of being able to hum a half remembered tune and being offered an opportunity to download it for 99p. And I do like to know where certain clothes are from. I think the creepy bit is taking pictures of people you don’t know without their permission. It’s very impersonal and feels a bit like stealing.

    • I’m learning lots about what technology can do from the comments following this post!
      It’s not perfect though. Although subscribed I don’t seem to be getting your posts so if there is a bit of fiddling going on please forgive me.

  14. Thimberlina says:

    Crazy times ahead! Will be interesting to see what happened when they search for hand made clothes.


Leave a Reply

