Penguins ahoy!(and other stuff)

I had a lovely day in Birmingham a little while ago when I met Naomi from the Facebook Stashbusting group. She really wanted to see the pattern for Vogue 1258 which is now out of print but has become very popular. Naomi intended to draw the pattern out herself but by seeing the original was able to get a much better idea of how this dress went together. Since we were there it seemed rude not to go look at the fabric, wouldn’t you agree?

Anyway, despite both being ‘stashbusters’ we both came away with more fabric.

Not quite 'Stashbusting'

Not quite ‘Stashbusting’

I bought the extra ‘penguin fabric I needed to make The Managements shirt, some striped green single knit jersey (not sure of the fibre composition), and some grey jersey with some stitch detail that makes ‘waves’ over the width of the fabric. I didn’t intend to buy any fabric (again) but this just whispered ‘Style Arc Toni’ from knee level and I had to buy it. Do you agree? I think it is perfect for a Toni.

Penguins!

Penguins!

Anyway, I have been pretty busy with other stuff and had little time to sew for myself but The Managements shirt is finished and declared a winner. He hasn’t tried it on yet but since the pattern is now looking a little shabby through the use it has had I know it will fit just fine.

I have a project for me on the table, all ready to go in the morning. I’m not going to tell you what it is yet but can you guess from this teaser picture?

Any ideas?

Any ideas?

12 Comments on “Penguins ahoy!(and other stuff)”

  1. hmmmm no idea, but it’s very intriguing!

  2. It looks very structured whatever it is! Love your grey fabric. Reminds me of one of those Ralph Rucci dress designs with the wandering pin tucks.

  3. amcclure2014 says:

    I was thinking a kilt in non-tartan fabric?
    I finished my first shirt, small scale for my grandson, and enjoyed the process so a full scale shirt for DH is on the cards.

  4. Ann Webber says:

    You’re making quilted running trousers for the coming winter? X

  5. mrsmole says:

    A quilted vest/waistcoat? You did a good job of resisting filling shopping bags with new fabric!!!

  6. sewruth says:

    I know, a 1980s punk inspired mini-kilt and a string vest on top!


Leave a Reply

