Bye bye Larry

Remember Larry, the wonderfully warm and useful sweater knitted way back in September/October 2014 which recently developed a hole right in the front? Well, with great regret I spent an afternoon when I wasn’t really able to do anything else ripping it to it’s component parts – viz, Rowan Wool Aran. This had cost me a fair amount way back and I’m nothing if not thrifty so I wasn’t prepared to just bin this.

I really liked Larry and if it hadn’t been too big for me now I would have repaired that hole and saved myself a bag load of work. However, I have also been going through the pictures ripped out from magazines that I like (we all save these, don’t we?) and found this….VINCE Sweater

…lovely isn’t it?

The picture hasn’t got a date on it but seems to have been late last year, and is by a brand called VINCE (pulled from Porter magazine). I love this so I’m planning to adapt another sweater from Ravelry. I have found the Berocco Bell Rock turtleneck which I think I can adapt to look much like this.

The yarn is now washed and wound into balls. Thankfully the ‘kinks’ all smoothed out after washing. The Management said it looked like I had shaved a poodle before that 🙂 .

It wasn’t until I was looking for the date when I knitted Larry that I realised just how much knitting I do! I knit to relax so this may reduce now that I’m not sewing for clients.

What do you prefer to do – knit, sew, or something else completely?

Look out for progress soon – I am missing my warm brown sweater.

Kim

 

17 Comments on “Bye bye Larry”

  1. Hila says:

    I love the idea of unravelling yarn and reusing it. My Chuck sweater is a bit too big and I need to go a size down but I really love the colour and the yarn so you have given me something to think about. Oddly enough, yoga is the only thing that completely relaxes me. With everything else I am constantly planning and scheming and I can’t do that with yoga.

    • Once you locate your stitches holding the pieces together it’s fairly simple (though time consuming) to unravel and prepare the yarn to reuse.
      Yoga is wonderful – as is anything that keeps us absolutely ‘in the moment’. I can’t wait to get back to my regular yoga class 😃.

  2. Cecilia says:

    What a great idea, it’s like recycling, perfect! Thanks for the idea and have a great weekend!

  3. Sarah says:

    I really like both but, now I sew for a living reading a book is my way out to relax. But, it has to be a really good, true, travel book to somewhere that I have never been !

  4. Here’s to you and your new brown sweater. Larry Jr perhaps? And who knew you could completely dismantle a sweater, wash it, and have “new” yarn? That’s fabulous! Maybe that’s why I’m so tentative getting back into sewing….once the fabric is cut, it’s cut. If you take a garment apart, you’re left with pieces for liliputians! But once I do get stitching, I do find it quite relaxing. But I’m beginning to think knitting might be grand, too.

    • Knitting is much less ‘final’ than sewing as you can almost always start over – not the case with cloth 😞. It’s more difficult to sew and watch TV too!

  5. Roxane says:

    Larry was nice, but I like the new one better. And knitting is my default. I have been doing it for sixty years, and they will probably have to pry my needles out of my cold, dead hands. Sewing is what I do when I can’t find clothes that I like, but have some good fabric sources.

  6. fabrickated says:

    I am only just getting into knitting, but I do feel a bit lost if I don’t have something to knit in those odd moments when I am waiting or watching TV. I love the Vince sweater and think it would be lovely in your reused Larry (are all these sweaters called after 1950s four piece band members?)

    • 😂 I hadn’t caught the 50’s band members thread! Vince is actually the designer rather than the sweater but I think I will think of it as a Vince from here on. I empathise with your feelings if I have no knitting too. My default is to always have a pair of socks growing.

  7. Sewniptuck says:

    Rarely do I find knitting relaxing. Currently, I’m adapting a raglan pattern to a completely unrelated gauge and wish I’d never started it! One day I will become a good knitter, but likely never great – it’s soooo slow! I walk the dog to relax, unless she won’t return once off leash, then it becomes ridiculously stressful!! Rereading that Larry post, I had no idea you scuba dive? Do your still do it? After snorkelling in the Galapagos I’ve resolved to do my scuba ticket again, it was 22 years ago and I’d prefer to reacquaint myself with the safety tips before facing off the local sharks!

    • I would love a dog of my own! It’s not going to happen yet but I’m putting pressure on The Management 😃.
      I’m not diving now. I decided to give up as I wasn’t able to dive frequently enough for it to feel instinctive. I miss it a bit but not as much as I thought I would. You can see quite a lot snorkelling – sometimes more than the divers!(ask me how I know😠).

  8. Fadanista says:

    I pull down hand knitted garments too. I love your chosen project and look forward to seeing your version.


Leave a Reply

