Ready to wear fast (no, not THAT sort of fast)

Going through my blog reader this morning (when I should have been working – I know) I saw this post from Goodbye Valentino.

Now, I have to confess that I don’t buy a massive amount of clothing anyway so this shouldn’t be too big a reach. However, everyone knows what happens when you ban something. You always want what ever you can’t have…

BUT, when I started this blog it was to encourage me to make more clothing for myself and I have to say that I haven’t noticed a great influx in my wardrobe. What hasn’t changed is my fabric buying habit, even though I am no longer selling on. (Forgive me Father for I have continue to sin). I am drowning in stash.

So. Next year, 2014, I hereby commit to making one garment a month for me. Possibly even from the Burda magazines I have piling up under the spare bed. Using new/different techniques from the Threads magazines I read so thoroughly. And I will try to learn to get a better photograph of me wearing the garments (not The Managements reluctant photographs or my ‘in the mirror’ selfies).

Wow, that’s a pretty big declaration for an early December Monday morning.

P.S. I am sewing at the moment, but everything I am making is either Christmas presents or a Top Secret project that I will reveal later. Much later.


13 Comments on “Ready to wear fast (no, not THAT sort of fast)”

  1. Good luck – look forward to seeing what you make over the year!

  2. velosewer says:

    That’s a hugeg commitment – Congratulations. One garment a month takes dedication as does working through Burda mags, and I know you’ll enjoy the process.

  3. Gaye Proctor says:

    It’s a great challenge, isn’t it? I’m joining too. Since you have also committed to make one garment a month for yourself, maybe you should check out the Make a Garment a Month challenge at http://sarahlizsewstyle.blogspot.com/

  4. prttynpnk says:

    I am tempted to go for this, but i fear the commitment will make me resent my hobby!

  5. Angela says:

    Hi there. Like you, I’ve signed up for Sarah’s fast. Not because I buy a lot of clothing (I don’t) but because my stash is “outta control!” and my wardrobe is in need of rejuvenation.After a long time of not sewing anything for myself I am unofficially doing the GAM, the Winter 6PAC and I may jump into the SG’s SWAP beginning Dec. 26th . So far, I’ve sewn two dresses this month. Look forward to seeing what you come up with.

  6. kim,
    Not sure of your email address. Can you send to goodbyevalentino@gmail.com.
    Thanks!


Leave a comment