Not to be knitted again

Not the pattern (which is great) but the yarn. This is its third – and definitely final time – of being knitted and I think this may be a winner.

Purl Soho Ribbed Raglan Pullover

I started knitting this at the start of lockdown using yarn that I was gradually pulling out from a jumper in a style I liked – I just didn’t like it in this yarn as it seemed a bit limp and lifeless. The yarn is Rowan – I think felted tweed?- and I adored the colour which was described as Avocado. I made another version of this jumper which I finished back in February and have enjoyed wearing but I have been brave and gone a size down for this one.

The previous jumper (second yarn knitting) is Backbone , and I was surprised how long ago it was made (I’m struggling to link this in the new WordPress thingy but the url is

In which I show my ‘Backbone’

Collar and back detail

The first time the yarn was used it was made into the distinctly unflattering Harriet. URL here

Introducing ‘Harriet’

I loved the idea of this cardigan but felt ridiculous every time I wore it. For about five minutes before I took it off.

Harriet Cardigan

So, you can see why I never want to knit this yarn again! I wasn’t prepared to discard/recycle it because it had been fairly expensive (as Rowan yarn is) and bought at full price because I loved the colour. It feels good to have reused something I liked but was not currently making use of (and also felt productive in this strange time). Time will tell if I’ve got it right this time but I’m optimistic as it felt better right from the start. It’s still too warm to wear this at the moment so I’ll have to wait and see.

I am still shuffling around the house doing bits and pieces – some of it is even useful. I have a sewing project well under way so I should have that to share soon.

Stay happy and healthy ๐Ÿ˜€


17 Comments on “Not to be knitted again”

  1. Liz Haywood says:

    The ribbed raglan is definitely the pick!

  2. tialys says:

    I’ve got a very similar colour yarn tied up in a WINP (work in no progress – I might have just made that up). I started a complicated cable cardigan and lost the will to live about 3 inches up the pattern. I feel that I might be undoing it and knitting something else with it – eventually – but not now, it’s far too hot, I’ve come over all of a sweat just looking at your photos of jumpers.

    • Kim says:

      Sorry to do that to you! I quite like knitting in summer but there’s definitely an upper temperature limit – the knitting ends up stuck to the needles ๐Ÿ™„

  3. You’ve gotten great knitting value from that yarn!… and I can understand not wanting to give away expensive yarn๐Ÿ˜. Beautiful work. ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Tia Dia says:

    I love that yarn. So beautiful a colour!

  5. Wow, you are intrepid and what a great save, love the colour. I wish I still had the cardigan I knit it that yarn, it didn’t work for me and as I thought it’d be a bear to unravel I donated it. Ah well, we live and learn.

  6. That does look great! Very modern and the colour is fab on you.

  7. Roxane says:

    I salute your perseverance! That color is definitely worth finding just the right pattern. It is the color of a sweater my mother knit that I just loved–and every time I borrowed it to wear to school, people would ask me if I felt OK! I still love it, even though I can’t wear it.

  8. Fadanista says:

    I too adore the colour but it is so much better in the ribbed raglan. You’ve reminded me to make this pattern.

  9. You do look more comfortable in the latest version ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a comment