Planning…

Well doesn’t time fly? Since I last posted you could be forgiven for thinking I hadn’t done anything. Since I don’t post any clients work I can’t show you any proof – but I promise I have been very busy. In addition to that The Management scheduled a trip to Northumberland to visit an old friend who had moved back there….. and deliver our family Christmas presents! At the time I was informed of this I had about a week to buy said gifts. It would be fair to say I was not too impressed, but now that it is done I can relax a bit and finish my other preparations.

During my time under cover I have still been stalking the blogs I know and love, and reconnected with one I used to read a while ago and seemed to have vanished from my WordPress reader (anyone else have those sort of problems? – and if I haven’t commented on your blog in a while it may be that you have vanished off the list and I haven’t noticed yet for which I can only apologise).

Lemongrass_01_small2

The blog I have found again is the lovely Evie at Pendle stitches who not only sews but knits some wonderful things for her family. In the post you get to if you click on the link you will find the fabulous Lemongrass sweater by Joji Locatelli.

Yarn for jumper and fabric for trousers

Yarn for jumper and fabric for trousers

I thought that it was a fabulous sweater with some slightly different detailing (got to love that side feature!) and immediately hot footed it to Ravelry for the pattern. I was fortunate to receive an e-mail from the Wool Warehouse which gave me the incentive to get right on it and buy the yarn ready to start. I chose Drops Nepal in a lovely Pumpkin shade which I consider to be just right for autumn/winter. I really see too many dull shades from clients so like to introduce a little brightness myself where possible – and I love an orange colour in almost any circumstance.

The ideal partner for such a gorgeous coloured yarn is a pair of brown trousers – and my favourite pair are starting to look a bit shabby. OK, a lot shabby.

Priced in pesetas!

Priced in pesetas!

I have been dredging deep in my stash of late and found this lovely piece. A perfect fabric (though truly who knows what the composition is) and just the right quantity. I vaguely recalled buying this on a Spanish holiday but was both amazed and slightly appalled to discover it still had a price sticker on IN PESETAS! Oh, the shame. Now Spain adopted the Euro in January 1999 so I really think this lovely fabric has marinaded quite long enough and is to be made into my Jeanius jeans pattern with a couple of tweaks. There is a bit of lycra in the fabric so it will be perfect for trousers with a kind of jeans styling, but a bit smarter.

I have got rid of two large orders last weekend so I have a little more time to do something for myself – once I clear the family alterations! I have a bag from my mum, and a couple of things for my DD that she has been very patiently waiting for. I’m on it now. Honest.

Hopefully it wont be too long before I can make progress on my two garments.

Swimming progress

As you see from the ticker I am now at mile 19 – actually 19.2 – so I only have 2.8 miles left in the challenge. It seems to have lasted for ages but the end is in sight. Thanks for all your good wishes – and a special thank you to those who have sponsored me for Aspire. I have exceeded the amount I hoped to raise so I can only thank you for your generosity.

 


13 Comments on “Planning…”

  1. Fadanista says:

    Lovely to see a post from you and well done on the swimming. I am very interested in the jumper pattern and your wool is a delicious colour, so can’t wait to see the finished garment.

  2. PendleStitches says:

    I miss Google Reader enormously. It was so much more stable than the current offerings! Thank you kindly for the link. I’m sorry for leading you astray (not really 😉 ) and love the colour you’ve chosen for Lemongrass. You’re right…it’s so easy during these grey days to fall into wearing drab colours, but we really need a little cheeriness to see us through till spring.

  3. I love Evie’s blog too – she’s so talented and I love that sweater. I too have just decided to make some brown trousers – a simpler pattern of wide legged ones. And my fabric was an oddment I just came across in a shop, so I have yet “marinated” it 😉

  4. Those colours are beautiful. I am aways amazed by knitting. I’m not very good at it myself! Good job with the swimming! and I to sometimes accidentally press a button on my IPad and lose a blog from my Reader. Such a sensitive screen!

  5. mrsmole says:

    What a cool sweater…never knew they did side vents like that! You new yarn color is yummy and as far as having fabric from 1999…I have loads of beauties from 1985…still waiting for the perfect time and pattern…ha ha In fact the fabrics have logged in over 12,000 air miles from LA to Liverpool and back again with just being refolded and repacked. Very proud of you and your swimming!

    • That’s just the one I am admitting to at the moment! No air miles involved (or only holiday returns) but plenty waiting as yours are for the right pattern and time.
      I am intending to finish the swim this week. Watch this space!(There will definitely be celebrating😉)


Leave a comment