Yucky/Lovely December

Oh boy have I had a grotty month – with the exception of the Christmas holidays. I don’t really want to go too far down that rabbit hole but I have been feeling grotty almost all month and it still isn’t sorted out. As a result I have been feeling very sorry for myself (crying at adverts and such on the TV is never good) and haven’t got anywhere near everything I wanted done through the month. All I can really thrill to is the fact that online shopping exists, without which we might possibly have been having beans on toast for Christmas lunch instead of the food that was so wonderfully delivered to the door by a very cheery chap from a local supermarket.
I have deferred some of my client work into January so my ‘retirement’ will be a little delayed, although I will still be doing a fraction of what had been needed previously.

I had intended to have a couple of trips into Birmingham to buy goodies for my #StitchingSanta partners but wasn’t able to do it. I did manage a bit of sewing and crochet for them – the ‘toiletry bags’ from Rhondas blog  which I thought would make great anything bags, and the face scrubbies from the stitchinmommy. Whilst I was reading the comments on Sewchets blog I saw one from Thimberlina who was one of my recipients saying that she wouldn’t mind one of the covered notebooks  – I hope you liked it Ali!

I was pretty miserable when I sent off the parcels to Ali and Hila as I had run out of wrapping paper, the gifts had been largely mail order rather than the Birmingham madness I had imagined, so weren’t even prettily wrapped. I swear I will do better next year and apologise wholeheartedly to Ali and Hila, and thank The Management for his help in getting them delivered at all. I hope you liked your parcels despite the numpty wrapping ladies.

I really was wowed by my two parcels.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sewing #stitchingsanta

The first shown is my sewing package which was sent by Nikki from beads and barnacles . I was overwhelmed by the gorgeous sewing box she had made, and included goodies too – a matching pin cushion, needle case, scissor holder with scissors, and pattern weights that knock spots off my flat seaside stones. As if that wasn’t enough she included a piece of fabric, a lovely beanie hat knitted by her sister Pippa, knitting stitch markers, and a package with all that was needed to make myself a hot chocolate to have with the macarons she had made. Treasure indeed!

I can’t wait to start collecting my sewing gizmos together into that box – perfect for someone about to change sewing habits to sew for themselves instead of clients. Thank you for everything Nikki.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Knitting #stitchingsanta

Having gathered my breath from opening my sewing parcel I couldn’t possibly have expected the wonders included in my knitting parcel. Jo from Jo through the keyhole had clearly been rummaging in my foggy brain to come up with so perfect a collection. The sock yarn is wonderful – and as it was a gift I have to make socks for me, don’t I? There was also a beautiful knitted shawl/scarf which I will make massive use of as I’m almost permanently freezing at the moment. There was a knitted purse kit which looks like fun, and a dachshund brooch kit with a Mollie Makes magazine (which is new to me) so I’m going to be well occupied once my brain clears. There was also a book called The Great Christmas Knit Off, chocolate, and tea sachets. I confess that reading with a cup of tea and a chocolate is about my activity level at the moment so all of this is massively appreciated. Thank you so much Jo.

This was my first experience of Sewchets fabulous #STITCHING SANTA and it has been wonderful. Thanks so much for organising as it must be lots of work!

I have done some knitting for myself this month but haven’t had the brain power to attack anything that couldn’t be ripped out to start again. My vest is finished and I’m very happy with it (Bessie pressed into action again for photos – you really don’t want to have my mug at the moment 😞). As you can see there was very little yarn leftover – I did start  to worry that I was going to run out!

I made my mum a new tea cosy in a pattern that she must have knitted on more occasions than she could possibly remember. She was very happy, and very amused to have had one knitted for her. The socks were for Jess who loves wearing them as ‘slippers’ (and doesn’t bother taking them off for bed so any nocturnal rambling is with warm feet!).

I’m determined that January will herald a new start, and that feeling better will be part of it (positive thinking!).

I hope you had a wonderful Christmas, and wish you a fabulous 2017 .

Kim x


32 Comments on “Yucky/Lovely December”

  1. sew2pro says:

    Oh Kim, I’m so sorry to hear you’ve had a rotten time. Here’s to a happy start to a fab new year.
    Love all the goodies by the way.

  2. Wah! It’s crappy feeling rough at Xmas, sending you a virtual whisky and handful of Strepsils [which I’m living on]. ONward and upwards, maybe 2017 will cheer us all up? Oh hang on, Trump. Shit.

  3. Ann Webber says:

    I’m amazed you did as much as you did! But, yes let’s turn that new leaf over together for a brighter, healthier 2017. X

  4. Jo says:

    I’m so pleased that you liked your parcel, it can be hard to buy for people you don’t really know but as a crafter yourself, it makes life easier knowing what another crafter might like. I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been under the weather, I have too, there’s so many bugs going around at the moment, a consequence of the warm weather I think, it’s not cold enough to kill all the bugs off. Your vest it lovely, such a gorgeous colour, though isn’t it nerve wracking when you’re near to the limit with the yarn, thank goodness you had enough to finish it off.

    • It’s a fabulous parcel and I have already started reading the book. I was starting to get concerned about yarn quantity which isn’t ever the situation with cloth. You either have enough to start or not with cloth!
      I’m sure we will both be very happy to be on top form again – hopefully before too long!

  5. Karen Lyon says:

    Take a deep breath and try to relax. Sewing is supposed to be fun and cheering. Whatever did not get done will have to wait it’s turn. No schedule is worth the risk of stroke/heart attack. Safety first and I hope you get de stressed quickly. Take care of yourself and your husband and put your feet up a bit.

    Happy New Year!

    Karen

    ________________________________

    • If anyone asks I will tell them Karen said I was to relax. Great advice, and I’m so tired (despite currently being awake at 4am with insomnia!) that its not difficult to agree. Thanks for your comment.

  6. Hmm I want socks… Just like those lovelies! Happy and a healthy New Year to you!

  7. tialys says:

    I’m sorry you felt so bad over Christmas – I know it’s always rotten but it seems worse at this time of year. I got mine over with a bit earlier in December which was good planning on my part I feel.
    You received some great Stitching Santa gifts – I told you it was fun – and I’m sure Ali and Hila will have been pleased with what you sent them.
    I hope you are well on the way to feeling back to normal and are able to take at least a sip of something sparkly tonight.

    • Stitching Santa is indeed great fun – I’m incredibly happy with my gifts. They are the sort of things I would have got for myself if I had just thought of them.
      The Management has sorted out a lovely bottle so maybe just a sip. I’m sure all will be well soon but for now it’s getting boring. Move along now😟.

  8. sewruth says:

    Poor you….get well soon.
    Sure, you’ve got all those lovely goodies to help you start feeling better.
    Happy New Year Kim.

  9. Aww no, I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve not been feeling great. I hope that you put your feet up and get too relax. I’m so glad that you enjoyed the stitchingsanta, it was my first time doing it as well and I had soo much fun making it!
    I hope 2017 brings you much enjoyment and crafting for yourself!

    Nikki

    • I loved being involved – and I also loved getting such magnificent parcels! I’m going to have another quiet day today tidying my sewing space and deciding what goes into the box you made. I am starting to feel like sewing again. Hurrah! 😃

  10. sewchet says:

    Oh, that sewing box! I made one for Ali (Thimberlina) last year and have been promising to make one for myself ever since, but haven’t ever got around to it! Love that you made the covered notebook for her after reading her comment. What a thoughtful bunch us crafters are!

  11. Thimberlina says:

    Aw, no need to apologise Kim, I loved my parcel, and it was the highlight of my christmas morning. I hope you’re on the mend, I’ve been struck by the cold bug these last few days, and am feeling that I’ve got off lightly as I know there’s some nasty ones out there. Hope you’re feeling better. I’ll be catching up on my blog once I’ve got a few days off this coming week 🙂 xx

  12. fabrickated says:

    I am impressed you did two SSs despite being so poorly. I did one, and didn’t make any of the ingredients, so was bowled over to receive an amazing gift of homemade items in return. It is cheering that so many people give kind gifts, time and thoughtful comments to each other – I hope it makes you feel a bit uplifted and that you start to move into the new phase of your life with joy. Happy New Year.

  13. PendleStitches says:

    December was a crappy month for sick folk. So sorry to hear you were clobbered by it too. Hoping you’re feeling very much better now. Here’s to a happy and healthy New Year! x

  14. Roxane says:

    So sorry to hear that you are still feeling punk. The fact that retail therapy helps means that you still have a pulse, which is good news. There seems to be an awful lot of crap going around, here as well as there, and I hope you feel better soon.

  15. […] you’ve seen my stitchin santa post sorry, but here’s again what Kim from The Material Lady made me, and I love them […]

  16. Sarah says:

    So sorry you feeling poorly. But, just wanted to tell you that I did make all of my fisherman’s smocks for Christmas presents, I did change the front pockets to side insert pockets, and have also bought some mouflon fleece and lined it with normal fleece, boy is that cosy – great for the morning dog walk and school run ! Everyone loved their smocks and making them in fleece made them really warm and cosy, I have even had requests for ones for birthdays ! I ended up making 12, they are quite addictive to make. Hope you feel better soon.

  17. Carolyn says:

    well you have been busy! in spite of being unwell you’ve been extremely productive. I hope you’re feeling better very soon xx 🙂

  18. mrsmole says:

    Hope you finally knocked that bug and are feeling better! What a great load of Christmas goodies!!! WOW! Your vest is just beautiful, such dainty cabling!


Leave a comment