What’s been going on?

Hmmm. It’s been a while (again). I wish I could say I had noticed the time going by but I really hadn’t. However, an update since I was last here.

I have done what seems like a vast amount of gardening – not my strong point but I’m trying harder now I have more time. I have been inspired by the amazing talent shown at Serendipity Revisited where an astonishing amount of work has gone into their Tasmanian garden. We had been discussing the possibility of turmeric growing in the UK. Filled with enthusiasm I took an age to track down some tubers(?) in an organic deli and bunged them in a pot, inside a plastic bag to simulate a greenhouse even though they were indoors, and waited. And waited. I planted four and was going to be happy if one sprouted but all four did! Check this out!

I had a lovely extended weekend in Northumberland, Edinburgh, and Cumbria at the end of May. I checked in with my mother, sister, and mother-in-law before carrying on to run a half marathon in Edinburgh. (More info about this in the Old Bat blog). We carried on from there to Carlisle which many of you know is the home of Linton Tweed. It would have been rude to have been so close and not called in – I got off fairly lightly buying only one remnant piece in a lovely kingfisher blue.

I made up the Vogue 1410 again – this time in the yellow cotton stuff that I bought in Birmingham. The weather over the last week has been unexpectedly hot – everyone knows we Brits melt at above 25°C and it has been over 30 some days this week. As a result I have been very happy to have had this available (and both pairs of scrousers). I repeated the Epaulet top in the leftover cotton which worked well (The Management likes it) but I think it could do with a tiny FBA when made up in a woven rather than knit. Sorry, no photo. I’ve been cracking on with The Managements quilt too. I really hadn’t appreciated how long this would take! And I ran short of fabric.

Another trip to Shrewsbury was needed (Hurrah!) to buy the extra quilt fabric so I had the opportunity to make the order I wanted from Colourmart. But I added some. I bought the navy/black that is to make the Botanical Yoke sweater again, but I added a lovely cream cashmere blend double knit (Backbone maybe?) and a 300g pack of mixed cashmere lace weight. All gorgeous and I can’t wait to start. Off to Shrewsbury and I might have bought some more sock yarn. What can I say?

And what about the brown Larry Junior I hear you ask?OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Finished! And if it wasn’t so bloomin’ hot I would have enjoyed modeling this!

 

Stay cool out there ’til next time!

Kim


25 Comments on “What’s been going on?”

  1. sew2pro says:

    No, not knitwear!! Almost as daft as working away with a hot laptop on yer lap 😦

    • 😂 My laptop is complaining in the heat – it has turned itself off twice in the past few days. I should probably take that as a reminder to do a full backup very soon. Hope your legs are ok!

  2. Sewniptuck says:

    Well that will be your global warming, more extremes of temperature on the horizon! Keep cool and like Sew2pro, even the thought of you wearing a knitted jumper gives me hot flushes!Congartulations on your half marathon, never, ever, ever for me so I’ll have to live vicariously!

  3. Fadanista says:

    Wow you have been busy. I feel slight envy at all those gorgeous shops and places you’ve been visiting and congratulations on the marathon- epic effort!

  4. tialys says:

    I’m glad to see you are pressing on with your quilt. Has the fact that it’s taken longer than you imagined put you off doing any more?
    Knitwear at the moment – Eek!! You have, however, managed to make it look very cool.

    • At the moment – yes! I can’t see this ever being finished 😉.(#notgivingup).
      You have no idea how hot i was in that jumper. It’s a little cooler this morning, and the forecast is for cooler temperatures, so I will feel more comfortable today. We need lots of hot to acclimatise !!

  5. Nikki says:

    I know the feeling of time whizzing by without you noticing. Looks like you’re filling your time with lots of fun stuff though! I love how that quilt is looking! Hopefully it will be worth all the effort it takes!

  6. amcclure2014 says:

    Yes, it’s hot all right – I wouldn’t have relished modelling that jumper even for a couple of minutes. It looks nice and will come into its own later. Congratulations on the half marathon and on the other things you’ve achieved.

  7. Love that last photo. I want your hair!

  8. fabrickated says:

    What an exciting life you are leading. I love the brown sweater. And the yellow frock is perfect for our warm days. Lovely work. Still having yarn envy.

    • Thanks Kate 😃
      I’m having a great time in the sunshine (although it’s hiding again!). Thanks for alerting me to Colourmart. I suspect you have started me on an expensive habit 😉

  9. sewchet says:

    Ha ha – I can almost feel your suffering as you model your (very lovely) jumper in that heat! I love your version of the Vogue dress – here’s a link to the one I made, if you’re interested: https://sewchet.com/2015/06/10/vogue-designer-linen-sun-dress/

  10. Wow! A half marathon! I need some pointers … I’m still struggling to get through a 10K! Love your knitting! I definitely need more than a few pointers if I ever take on a project like that!

  11. […] the Purl Soho Circular Yoke Summer Shirt. I used the cashmere yarn set that I bought at Colourmart a while back and I have to say I love it. It was a joy to knit (two strands at once makes it 4 ply) and was so […]

  12. […] stash I dug deep and found this lovely cashmere and wool mix bought at Colourmart way back in 2017 (post here). I wish I could say that it has reduced the stash by a large percentage but I’m afraid […]


Leave a comment